France And Paris Travel Guide With Tourist Information

Home Page    Paris Restaurants    Paris Museums    Paris Monuments    Paris Castles    Paris Hotels

How To Support Website

Main Index Pages

Home Page
French History
French Wines
French Holidays
Fishing In France
Map of France
France Video Library

City of Paris

Paris Travel Guide
Family Guide to Paris
Paris Landmarks
Paris Tourist Attractions
Paris Entertainment
Transport and Tours
Amusement Parks
Eating In Paris
- Restaurants In Paris
- Bistros In Paris
- Cafes In Paris
- Cabaret and Shows
- Bars and Nightclubs
Leisure Centre In Paris
Zoos and Aquariums
Horse Race Courses
History of Paris
Map of Paris

Holidays in France

Holidays in France
Villas in France
Cottages in France
Gites in France
Camping in France
Touring Holidays
Skiing Holidays
Golfing Holidays
Fishing Holidays
Adventure Holidays
Activity Holidays
Cycling Holidays
Driving Holidays
Boating Holidays
Weekend Breaks
Hotels in France
Hostels In France
Ferry Crossings
Flights to France
Car Rental in France

Reference Pages

Articles On France
Linking To Our Site
Contact Page


Burgundy Province of France

Facts on Bourgogne

Land area: 31,582 km˛
Population: estimated at 1,624,000
Area: 51/km˛ (2006)
Capital City: Dijon

Bourgogne is one of the 26 regions of France but it is known to the British as Burgundy.  Burgundy has been known as the heart of France. This is because of its location on the map of France.  If you were to face the map and turn 180 degrees, your heart would be where Burgundy lies.

Burgundy Province

- Travel Guide
- Facts on Burgundy
- Wines from Burgundy
- Wines from France
- Expensive Wines

Facts on Burgundy Province of France

The Bourgogne region is larger than the old Duchy of Burgundy and yet it is smaller than the area ruled by the Dukes of Burgundy.

Burgundy is the old duchy of Burgundy, which was later called province of Burgundy.  But the old county of Burgundy, which was later called the province of Franche-Comté is not included inside the Bourgogne region, as it comes under the Franche-Comté region.

Also there is a small part of the duchy of Burgundy (province of Burgundy), which is now inside the Champagne-Ardenne region.

There are four departments making up this region, which are the Nievre, Yonne, Cote-d'Or and the Saone-et-Loire.

This region has been inhabited by many, including Celts and Romans, however, the most important were the Bergundians who gave their name to the region.

Later the region was divided between the Duchy of Burgundy (west of Burgundy) and the County of Burgundy (east of Burgundy), yet the Duchy of Burgundy is the more famous of the two.

Later on again, the Duchy of Burgundy became the French province of Burgundy, while the County of Burgundy became the French province of Franche-Comté, literally meaning free county.

Copyright © All Rights Reserved