France And Paris Travel Guide With Tourist Information

Home Page    Paris Restaurants    Paris Museums    Paris Monuments    Paris Castles    Paris Hotels

How To Support Website

Main Index Pages

Home Page
French History
French Wines
French Holidays
Fishing In France
Map of France
France Video Library

City of Paris

Paris Travel Guide
Family Guide to Paris
Paris Landmarks
Paris Tourist Attractions
Paris Entertainment
Transport and Tours
Amusement Parks
Eating In Paris
- Restaurants In Paris
- Bistros In Paris
- Cafes In Paris
- Cabaret and Shows
- Bars and Nightclubs
Leisure Centre In Paris
Zoos and Aquariums
Horse Race Courses
History of Paris
Map of Paris

Holidays in France

Holidays in France
Villas in France
Cottages in France
Gites in France
Camping in France
Touring Holidays
Skiing Holidays
Golfing Holidays
Fishing Holidays
Adventure Holidays
Activity Holidays
Cycling Holidays
Driving Holidays
Boating Holidays
Weekend Breaks
Hotels in France
Hostels In France
Ferry Crossings
Flights to France
Car Rental in France

Reference Pages

Articles On France
Linking To Our Site
Contact Page


Languedoc-Roussillon Province of France

Facts on Languedoc-Rousillon

Land area: 27,376 kmē
Population: estimated at 2,520,000
Area: 92/kmē
Capital City: Montpellier

Languedoc-Roussillon is one of the 26 regions of France and borders Spain, Andorra and the Mediterranean sea.


- Travel Guide
- Facts on Region
- Roussillon Wines
- Wines from France

Facts on Languedoc-Roussillon Province of France

There are five departments within this region, which are the Gard, Lozere, Herault, Aude and Pyrenees-Orientales.

The Languedoc-Roussillon region is dominated by absolutely thousands of acres of vineyards, which are around three times the combined area of the Bordeaux vineyards.

The Mediterranean climate and land with soil ranging from rocky sand to thick clay is very suitable for the production of wine, and it is estimated that during the 20th century around one in ten bottles of the world's wine was produced in this region.

Three principal communes are Nimes, Montpellier and Perpignan and each department has its own major city, as follows..

  • Aude has the city of Carcassonne
  • Gard has the city of Nimes
  • Herault has the city of Montpellier
  • Lozere has the city of Mende
  • And the Pyrenees-Orientales has the city of Perpignan

Not including the places mentioned above, the Languedoc-Roussillon region has some truly romantic and picture postcard villages and towns, as well as vibrant cities and historical, fortified medieval towns such as Collioure, Ceret and Aigues-Mortes.

It is one of the least industrialised regions in France but agriculture with milk production from goats, sheep and cows is important and the major crops are apricots, peaches, melon, nectarines and rice.

The wine industry, which produces some excellent wines such as Corbieres, has always been a major part of the Languedoc-Roussillon region, although in the past they used to go for quantity rather than quality, but in more recent years this has changed considerably. 

Copyright Đ All Rights Reserved