France And Paris Travel Guide With Tourist Information

Home Page    Paris Restaurants    Paris Museums    Paris Monuments    Paris Castles    Paris Hotels

How To Support Website

Main Index Pages

Home Page
French History
French Wines
French Holidays
Fishing In France
Map of France
France Video Library

City of Paris

Paris Travel Guide
Family Guide to Paris
Paris Landmarks
Paris Tourist Attractions
Paris Entertainment
Transport and Tours
Amusement Parks
Eating In Paris
- Restaurants In Paris
- Bistros In Paris
- Cafes In Paris
- Cabaret and Shows
- Bars and Nightclubs
Leisure Centre In Paris
Zoos and Aquariums
Horse Race Courses
History of Paris
Map of Paris

Holidays in France

Holidays in France
Villas in France
Cottages in France
Gites in France
Camping in France
Touring Holidays
Skiing Holidays
Golfing Holidays
Fishing Holidays
Adventure Holidays
Activity Holidays
Cycling Holidays
Driving Holidays
Boating Holidays
Weekend Breaks
Hotels in France
Hostels In France
Ferry Crossings
Flights to France
Car Rental in France

Reference Pages

Articles On France
Linking To Our Site
Contact Page


Midi-Pyrenees Province of France

Facts on Midi-Pyrenees

Land area: 45,348 kmē
Population: estimated at 2,755,000
Area: 61/kmē
Capital City: Toulouse

The Midi-Pyrenees is one of the regions of France and was created artificially in the late 20th century to serve as a hinterland and zone of influence for its capital city of Toulouse, and is the largest region of metropolitan France and is actually larger than the Netherlands.


- Travel Guide
- Facts on Pyrenees
- Wines from France

Facts on Midi-Pyreness Province of France

The departments of the Midi-Pyrenees consist of Gers, Haute-Garonne, Tarn, Ariege, Lot, Aveyron, Haute-Pyrenees and Tarn-et-Garonne.

The name chosen for the new region was decided by the French central government purely on geography Midi (i.e. "southern regions" and Pyrenees (for the Pyrenees Mountains that are at the southern most limit of the region).

Historically, the Midi-Pyrenees is made up of several former French provinces

  • 0.5 percent of Midi-Pyrenees is Agenais
  • 15.4 percent of Midi-Pyrenees is Quercy
  • 19.9 percent of Midi-Pyrenees is Rouergue
  • 23.4 percent of Midi-Pyrenees is Languedoc
  • 24.2 percent of Midi-Pyrenees is Gascony
  • Yet 16.6 percent of Midi-Pyrenees is a collection of small Pyrenean provinces

The historical flag of Languedoc (the Occitan Cross) was adopted as the official flag of the Midi-Pyrenees region.  This historical flag of Languedoc is itself derived from the coat of arms of the old county of Toulouse.

The Midi-Pyrenees was divided in two by its traditional languages, Occitan and Gascon, however, French is now dominant in the region, but as recently as the 1970's it was still possible to hear Gascon or Occitan in the farmers markets.

While the metropolitan area of the capital city Toulouse is a highly densely populated area, the rest of the region is sparsely populated, and is among the lowest of densities in Western Europe.

Copyright Đ All Rights Reserved