France And Paris Travel Guide With Tourist Information

Home Page    Paris Restaurants    Paris Museums    Paris Monuments    Paris Castles    Paris Hotels

How To Support Website

Main Index Pages

Home Page
French History
French Wines
French Holidays
Fishing In France
Map of France
France Video Library

City of Paris

Paris Travel Guide
Family Guide to Paris
Paris Landmarks
Paris Tourist Attractions
Paris Entertainment
Transport and Tours
Amusement Parks
Eating In Paris
- Restaurants In Paris
- Bistros In Paris
- Cafes In Paris
- Cabaret and Shows
- Bars and Nightclubs
Leisure Centre In Paris
Zoos and Aquariums
Horse Race Courses
History of Paris
Map of Paris

Holidays in France

Holidays in France
Villas in France
Cottages in France
Gites in France
Camping in France
Touring Holidays
Skiing Holidays
Golfing Holidays
Fishing Holidays
Adventure Holidays
Activity Holidays
Cycling Holidays
Driving Holidays
Boating Holidays
Weekend Breaks
Hotels in France
Hostels In France
Ferry Crossings
Flights to France
Car Rental in France

Reference Pages

Articles On France
Linking To Our Site
Contact Page


Pays-de-la-Loire Province of France

Facts on Pays de la Loire

Land area: 32,082 km²
Population: estimated at 3,426,000
Area: 107/km² (2006)
Capital City: Nantes

Pays de la Loire is one of the 26 regions of France, and is one of the regions of France, which was created in the late 20th century to ensure it France continued to have the capital city of Nantes.


- Travel Guide
- Facts on Region

- Wines from France

Facts on Pays-de-la-Loire Province of France

It is one of a handful of so-called "balancing metropolis" in other words, an artificially created region. A good example of an artificially created region is Rhône-Alpes, which was created as the region for Lyon, also now known as the Midi-Pyrénées, which was created to serve as a region for Toulouse.

Pays de la Loire is a part of Brittany, with its old capital Nantes contained within the Loire-Atlantique department.

The whole of the former province of Maine is contained inside Pays de la Loire and Maine is now divided between the Mayenne and Sarthe departments.

The name of the region was chosen by the French government and was based purely on the geographical location - Pays means "lands" and de la Loire means "of the Loire River".  However it does cause some confusion, since the chateaux of the Loire valley are actually located in the Centre region and not within Pays del la Loire!

The departments within Pays del al Loire are: Loire-Atlantique, Mayenne, Sarthe, Vendee and Maine-et-Loire.

Copyright © All Rights Reserved