France And Paris Travel Guide With Tourist Information

Home Page    Paris Restaurants    Paris Museums    Paris Monuments    Paris Castles    Paris Hotels

How To Support Website

Main Index Pages

Home Page
French History
French Wines
French Holidays
Fishing In France
Map of France
France Video Library

City of Paris

Paris Travel Guide
Family Guide to Paris
Paris Landmarks
Paris Tourist Attractions
Paris Entertainment
Transport and Tours
Amusement Parks
Eating In Paris
- Restaurants In Paris
- Bistros In Paris
- Cafes In Paris
- Cabaret and Shows
- Bars and Nightclubs
Leisure Centre In Paris
Zoos and Aquariums
Horse Race Courses
History of Paris
Map of Paris

Holidays in France

Holidays in France
Villas in France
Cottages in France
Gites in France
Camping in France
Touring Holidays
Skiing Holidays
Golfing Holidays
Fishing Holidays
Adventure Holidays
Activity Holidays
Cycling Holidays
Driving Holidays
Boating Holidays
Weekend Breaks
Hotels in France
Hostels In France
Ferry Crossings
Flights to France
Car Rental in France

Reference Pages

Articles On France
Linking To Our Site
Contact Page


Provence-Alpes Cote d'Azur in France

Facts on Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Land area: 31,400 km²
Population: estimated at 4,781,000
Area: 152/km²
Capital City: Marseille

Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur is one of the 26 regions of France.

Alpes Cote d'Azur

- Travel Guide
- Facts on Region
- Cote d'Azur Wines
- Wines from France

Facts on Provence-Alpes Cote d'Azur in France

There are six different departments within the Provence-Alpes Cote d'Azur region in France and these are the Alpes-Maritimes, Hautes-Alpes, Bouches-du-Rhone, Var, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence and Vaucluse.

It is made up of the former French province of Provence, the former papal territory of Avignon, known as Comtat Venaissin, the former Sardinian-Piedmontese county of Nice, whose coastline is known in English as the French Riviera, and in French as the Cote d'Azur and the south eastern part of the former French province of Dauphine, in the French Alps.

To the North is the Rhone-Alpes, to the East is the Italian border, to the South is the Mediterranean Sea, and to the West is the Languedoc-Roussillon region, with the River Rhone marking its westernmost border.

There are many popular cities within this region and just some of these within Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur include, Antibes, Avignon, Cannes, Grasse, Marseille, Nice, Saint-Tropez and Toulon.

Because of the mild climate, it is a year-round tourist attraction and Nice is second only to Paris in the number and size of its hotels.

Apart from the tourist industry, others include the perfume industry in Grasse and the high-tech industry around Sophia-Antipolis.

Alpes-de-Haute-Provence is a mountainous region with peaks over 2,438 metres. The climate is very dry and arid, but irrigation allows for a prosperous fruit-growing industry.

Marseille has been an important harbour since before Julius Caesar's conquest of Gaul and is situated in the department of the Bouches-du-Rhone.

Marseille is also the capital of the Provence-Alpes-Cote-d'Azur, as well as the capital of the Bouches-du-Rhone department, which was named after the mouth of the River Rhone, and its inhabitants are called Marseillais.

Copyright © All Rights Reserved