France And Paris Travel Guide With Tourist Information

Home Page    Paris Restaurants    Paris Museums    Paris Monuments    Paris Castles    Paris Hotels

How To Support Website

Main Index Pages

Home Page
French History
French Wines
French Holidays
Fishing In France
Map of France
France Video Library

City of Paris

Paris Travel Guide
Family Guide to Paris
Paris Landmarks
Paris Tourist Attractions
Paris Entertainment
Transport and Tours
Amusement Parks
Eating In Paris
- Restaurants In Paris
- Bistros In Paris
- Cafes In Paris
- Cabaret and Shows
- Bars and Nightclubs
Leisure Centre In Paris
Zoos and Aquariums
Horse Race Courses
History of Paris
Map of Paris

Holidays in France

Holidays in France
Villas in France
Cottages in France
Gites in France
Camping in France
Touring Holidays
Skiing Holidays
Golfing Holidays
Fishing Holidays
Adventure Holidays
Activity Holidays
Cycling Holidays
Driving Holidays
Boating Holidays
Weekend Breaks
Hotels in France
Hostels In France
Ferry Crossings
Flights to France
Car Rental in France

Reference Pages

Articles On France
Linking To Our Site
Contact Page


Limousin Province of France

Facts on Limousin

Land area: 16,942 kmē
Population: estimated at 725,000
Area: 43/kmē
Capital City: Limoges

Limousin is one of the 26 regions of France, and has three departments in the Limousin region, which are the Creuse, Haute-Vienne and the Correze.

Limousin Province

- Travel Guide
- Facts on Limousin
- Holidays In Limousin
- Wines from France
- Carp Fishing

Facts on Limousin Province of France

The modern region of Limousin is essentially composed of two historical French provinces which are Limousin and Marche.

Within Limousin, it contains the correze in its entirity, plus the central and south eastern part of the Haute-Vienne.

Within Marche, you will will find most of the Creuse department and the north and north eastern part of the Haute-Vienne.  And although the old province of Marche is almost entirely contained inside the current Limousin region, there is a small part of Marche being now in the Centre region.

Beside these two main provinces, Limousin is also composed of small parts of other former provinces, which are as follows:

  • Poitou, which is to the extreme west of Haute-Vienne
  • Angoumois, which is to the extreme south-west of Haute-Vienne
  • Berry, which is to the extreme north of Creuse
  • Auvergne, which is to the extreme east of Creuse

Today the province of Limousin is the most populated part of the Limousin region. 

Limoges, the historical capital and largest city of the Limousin province is the capital of the Limousin administrative region.

Limousin is an essentially rural region.  This region is famed for some of the best beef farming in the world, herds of Limousin cattle, which are a distinctive chestnut red, are a very common sight in the region.  In addition to cattle, the region is also a major timber producing area.

Limousin is the least populated French region in Metropolitan France. Did you know that there are fewer inhabitants in Limousin than in the city of Marseille!

Until the 1970s, Occitan was the maternal language of rural areas, and even today there remain several different Occitan dialects in use in the Limousin region.

Copyright Đ All Rights Reserved